Holistic Health Retreats

Health is more than just the absence of disease. Every aspect of our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual lives contributes to our well-being. To have good health we need positive mental habits, energy, enthusiasm for life, and inner peace.

All of our classes will give you personalized training in how to achieve and maintain your health on many levels. You will receive instruction in yoga and meditation, including powerful techniques for energizing the body and calming the mind. There will be opportunities for walking and enjoying nature’s beauty. You can also enjoy extra services, such as massage and spiritual counseling.

2017 September

Sharing Nature Training and Retreat

Sunday, Sep 24 – Friday, Sep 29

Sharing Nature Training and Retreat
A Nature-Based Wellness Retreat

Learn techniques to give children and adults a dynamic and inspiring experience of nature.
Sundara Traymar and Bharat Cornell

October

Prenatal Yoga Retreat

Friday, Oct 6 – Sunday, Oct 8

Prenatal Yoga Retreat

Find focus through balance and the breath to connect mother and baby, and to prepare for a healthy, mindful, more natural approach to labor and birth.
Melody Hansen

Managing Chronic Pain and Transcending It

Friday, Oct 13 – Sunday, Oct 15

Managing Chronic Pain and Transcending It

Learn techniques to help you dissolve pain at its roots, and to use pain as a transformational tool for healing.
Shanti Rubenstone, M.D. and Nayaswami Lahari

November

Restore with Ananda Yoga® Retreat

Friday, Nov 3 – Sunday, Nov 5

Restore with Ananda Yoga® Retreat

Learn secrets of relaxing through yoga to revitalize the body and mind, and to fill you with calmness. Led by Brahmachari Jitendra, a gifted yoga instructor with a warm and engaging manner.
Brahmachari Jitendra

Therapeutic Yoga Retreat

Friday, Nov 10 – Sunday, Nov 12

Therapeutic Yoga Retreat

Learn techniques of yoga to improve your health in body, mind, and spirit. Discover the healing power of posture, movement, energy flows, breath, self-talk, and focus.
Maitri Jones

2018 January

Aging Gracefully Yoga Retreat

Friday, Jan 5 – Sunday, Jan 7

Aging Gracefully Yoga Retreat
Gentle Movement for Health

Maitri Jones

February

Achieving Inner Peace & Tranquility

Friday, Feb 9 – Sunday, Feb 11

Achieving Inner Peace & Tranquility

This course is filled with experiential exercises, discussion, and living examples. It also includes the Full Circle Emotional Awareness Exercises.
Nayaswami Mantradevi

Restorative Yoga to Relax and Rejuvenate

Friday, Feb 9 – Sunday, Feb 11

Restorative Yoga to Relax and Rejuvenate

Restorative yoga is currently the most popular style of yoga in the United States - with good reason. Restorative yoga is safe, nurturing, and systematic, and helps you relax and release deep tension with no effort.
Melody Hansen

March

Yoga Therapy for Back and Joint Pain

Friday, Mar 2 – Sunday, Mar 4

Yoga Therapy for Back and Joint Pain

Yoga Therapist Nicole DeAvilla and experienced yoga teachers from the Ananda Yoga Therapist Training Program will evaluate and assist you in creating a personalized Yoga Therapy program to take home.
Nicole DeAvilla

Yoga to Awaken the Chakras

Friday, Mar 9 – Sunday, Mar 11

Yoga to Awaken the Chakras

Explore and connect with the chakras in your energy body during this special yoga retreat. Experience their power for overcoming obstacles and bringing peace and fulfillment to your life.
Badri Matlock

April

The Chakras: Inner Guide to Self-Realization

Friday, Apr 6 – Sunday, Apr 8

The Chakras: Inner Guide to Self-Realization

Use visualization, affirmation, color and sound, music, breathing, and hatha yoga to help you attune more deeply to these astral energies
Nayaswami Maria

Practical Ayurveda for Self-Healing

  ceu credits Wednesday, Apr 11 – Sunday, Apr 15

Practical Ayurveda for Self-Healing

Understanding your Ayurvedic constitution and how to work with it can help you feel your best on every level. You can have stronger, more consistent energy and health… more calmness and mental clarity… more happiness and well-being.
Nayaswami Mangala

Free Yourself From Stress Retreat

Friday, Apr 27 – Sunday, Apr 29

Free Yourself From Stress Retreat

Practice the techniques of Paramhansa Yogananda to help you to relax physically and mentally. Learn how to develop mental strength through concentration and meditation, to help you maintain calmness throughout the day.
Nayaswami Diksha

May

Ananda Holistic Health Retreat

  ceu credits Sunday, May 6 – Friday, May 11

Ananda Holistic Health Retreat
Achieving Glowing Health and Vitality

Immerse yourself in an environment that supports you in every way - diet, exercise, meditation, changing habits, living a balanced life.
Maitri Jones and Nayaswami Mangala

Restorative Yoga to Relax and Rejuvenate

Friday, May 11 – Sunday, May 13

Restorative Yoga to Relax and Rejuvenate

Restorative yoga is currently the most popular style of yoga in the United States - with good reason. Restorative yoga is safe, nurturing, and systematic, and helps you relax and release deep tension with no effort.
Melody Hansen

Yoga to Awaken the Chakras

Friday, May 25 – Sunday, May 27

Yoga to Awaken the Chakras

Explore and connect with the chakras in your energy body during this special yoga retreat. Experience their power for overcoming obstacles and bringing peace and fulfillment to your life.
Badri Matlock

June

Therapeutic Yoga Retreat

Friday, Jun 8 – Sunday, Jun 10

Therapeutic Yoga Retreat

Learn techniques of yoga to improve your health in body, mind, and spirit. Discover the healing power of posture, movement, energy flows, breath, self-talk, and focus.
Maitri Jones

Prenatal Yoga Retreat

Friday, Jun 15 – Sunday, Jun 17

Prenatal Yoga Retreat

Find focus through balance and the breath to connect mother and baby, and to prepare for a healthy, mindful, more natural approach to labor and birth.
Melody Hansen

July

The Chakras: Inner Guide to Self-Realization

Friday, Jul 20 – Sunday, Jul 22

The Chakras: Inner Guide to Self-Realization

Use visualization, affirmation, color and sound, music, breathing, and hatha yoga to help you attune more deeply to these astral energies
Nayaswami Maria

August

Healthy Mind- Healthy Body

Friday, Aug 17 – Sunday, Aug 19

Healthy Mind- Healthy Body
Yogananda's Revolutionary Approach to Health

Joy and vitality are yours to call upon at will! Experience a profound healing of mind and body using simple tools to awaken receptivity to this subtle power.
Nayaswami Mukti

Yoga to Awaken the Chakras

Friday, Aug 31 – Sunday, Sep 2

Yoga to Awaken the Chakras

Explore and connect with the chakras in your energy body during this special yoga retreat. Experience their power for overcoming obstacles and bringing peace and fulfillment to your life.
Badri Matlock

September

Yoga Retreat for Back Care

Friday, Sep 14 – Sunday, Sep 16

Yoga Retreat for Back Care
Gentle Movement - Spinal Awareness - Positive Thoughts

Learn simple, effective, research-based yoga modified to work for your body.
Maitri Jones

October

Yoga Therapy for Back and Joint Pain

Friday, Oct 5 – Sunday, Oct 7

Yoga Therapy for Back and Joint Pain

Yoga Therapist Nicole DeAvilla and experienced yoga teachers from the Ananda Yoga Therapist Training Program will evaluate and assist you in creating a personalized Yoga Therapy program to take home.
Nicole DeAvilla

You Can Change Your Brain and Transform Your Life

  ceu credits Friday, Oct 19 – Sunday, Oct 21

You Can Change Your Brain and Transform Your Life
Self-Transformation through Superconsciousness

New information on the brain, shared by Dr. Peter Van Houten, helps us engage our brain’s infinite capacity for change.
Dr. Peter Van Houten

November

Achieving Inner Peace & Tranquility

Friday, Nov 9 – Sunday, Nov 11

Achieving Inner Peace & Tranquility

This course is filled with experiential exercises, discussion, and living examples. It also includes the Full Circle Emotional Awareness Exercises.
Nayaswami Mantradevi

Ananda Yoga® for Bone Strength

  ceu credits Friday, Nov 30 – Sunday, Dec 2

Ananda Yoga® for Bone Strength

You can prevent or reverse bone-density loss. Therapeutic Ananda Yoga® provides safe techniques to strengthen your bones and muscles, the enjoyable yoga routine both physically beneficial and spiritually uplifting.
Maitri Jones


Facebook Like Follow pinterest email bookmark View more choices


Please send us a Question for more information:

Name:

Email:  



Subscribe

Receive monthly news and inspiration.





Massage and other healing treatments are available to support your meditation retreat experience

Come a Day Early
Relax, Take a Walk,
Get a Massage


Gardens, flowers, forest are within and around the Expanding Light Spiritual Retreat for Meditation, Yoga, and Health

Stay an Extra Day,  Relax,
Absorb Your Experience


Exquisite vegetarian cuisine is carefully planned to support your meditation and overall health. Our menu is based on the teachings of yoga on diet

Three delicious and satisfying
vegetarian buffet meals are included
with the cost of your stay

Ananda is a worldwide movement to help you realize the joy of your own higher Self. It is based on the teachings of Paramhansa Yogananda and was founded by his direct disciple Swami Kriyananda in 1968.
Learn More...

Joy is within you

CONNECT

14618 Tyler Foote Rd
Nevada City, California 95959
Toll free 800-346-5350
Outside US 530-478-7518

Contact Us

Donate to our non-profit

SUBSCRIBE

Receive uplifting emails with inspirational content and news about our retreat programs, travels, and trainings.

Sign up for free

The Expanding Lighr Retreat facebook YouTube
The Expanding Lighr Retreat facebook YouTube